attorney images

Edina Divorce, Family Law and Criminal Defense Attorneys

attorney images
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » DWI

Serious Defense Of Your Rights If You Face DWI Charges

Minnesota takes impaired driving seriously. There are about 25,000 driving while intoxicated arrests every year, with almost 70 every day. About 80 percent result in criminal convictions. If you have been charged with DWI, our criminal defense and DWI attorneys at Hill Crabb, LLC, can support you.

A third of traffic deaths involve impaired drivers. The stricter laws are helping lower related fatalities. As important as the laws are, you need to remember that you have rights. Call us if you are accused of DWI. Depending on the details of your case, we might be able to get the charges reduced or dismissed.

Implied Consent

You may not realize it, but if you drive on the state’s roads you have already consented to blood alcohol tests. If you refuse a blood, breath or urine test, you could lose your driving privileges for up to a year. About one out of every five drivers who are pulled over on suspicion of impaired driving refuse the tests.

First Time Charges Vs. Multiple Offenses

First offense: Fourth-degree/misdemeanor

  • Fine: $1,000
  • Jail: Up to 90 days
  • Driver’s license suspension: Up to 90 days

Second and third offenses: Third-degree and fourth-degree DWI/Gross misdemeanor

  • Fine: $3,000
  • Jail: Up to one year
  • Driver’s license suspension: Not less than a year for a second conviction; not less than three years for third
  • Vehicle forfeiture

Fourth offense: Felony

  • Fine: $14,000
  • Jail: From 180 days to seven years
  • Driver’s license suspension: Not less than four years
  • Vehicle forfeiture

Fifth (and more) offenses: Felony

  • Fine: $14,000
  • Jail: one to seven years
  • Driver’s license suspension: Not less than six years
  • Vehicle forfeiture

What Are Your Rights?

The blood alcohol content limit (BAC) is 0.08. That means that you can be charged with DWI and prosecuted without additional evidence if your BAC reaches that level. For drivers under 21 years old, there is a zero-tolerance policy — any positive tests (regardless of how low your BAC is) can result in a conviction.

We can defend your rights by raising the following issues:

  • Reasonable Articulable Suspicion
  • Probable cause
  • Proper breathalyzer/blood alcohol device training
  • Protocols were followed
  • Miranda rights
  • Physical reasons for failing field sobriety tests

Aggressively Supporting Your Rights Throughout Your DWI Case

Our lawyers will work to defend your rights. Call Hill Crabb, LLC, at 612-568-5967 or visit our contact page If you need assistance in Edina or anywhere in Minnesota.